Martinez, Johnson, Smoltz and Biggio Make Up 2015 MLB Hall Of Fame Class


The 2015 MLB Hall Of Fame class has been announced, and it includes four players, marking the fourth time that four players have been elected in the same year, and the first time it’s happened since 1955. Those historic four are Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz and Craig Biggio.

Martinez and Johnson were the no-brainers here, and it’s almost baffling that they didn’t get 100% of the vote. I suppose some writers figure it’s not worth wasting a vote on a guy who will surely get in, but still, it seems disrespectful to not vote for guys with careers like that.

Randy Johnson pitched for 22 seasons and won 303 games. His career 3.29 ERA and 4,875 strikeouts are phenomenal marks, but then when you look at the five Cy Young Awards he won, there’s no way he wasn’t going to be a nearly-unanimous first ballot selection.

A notch behind in career marks, Pedro Martinez finished with a 2.93 ERA and 3 Cy Young Awards. He also helped bring a world series title to Boston in 2004, a city that had been starved of a winner since 1918.

The third first-timer, John Smoltz, is the only man in MLB history with over 200 wins and 150 saves. The fact he can hold a mark like that and only get 83% of the vote is ridiculous, but it’s irrelevant, as that’s still well over the threshold required to join teammates Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine in Cooperstown.

Craig Biggio is the only non-first year player to be elected, after just missing induction in 2014. He is 21st in all-time hits and second in career hit-by-pitch. It’s nice to see those bruises weren’t for nothing, as the scrappy catcher/second baseman will take his rightful place among the MLB greats.

A player needs 75% of the vote to be elected, and if someone gets less than 5%, they fall off the ballot.

The full results are below.

Johnson, 97.3 percent
Martinez, 91.1
Smoltz, 82.9
Biggio, 82.7


Mike Piazza, 69.9
Jeff Bagwell, 55.7
Tim Raines, 55
Curt Schilling, 39.2
Roger Clemens, 37.5
Barry Bonds, 36.8
Lee Smith, 30.2
Edgar Martinez, 27
Alan Trammell, 25.1
Mike Mussina, 24.6
Jeff Kent, 14
Fred McGriff, 12.9
Larry Walker, 11.8
Gary Sheffield, 11.7
Mark McGwire, 10
Don Mattingly, 9.1
Sammy Sosa, 6.6
Nomar Garciaparra, 5.5


Carlos Delgado, 3.8
Troy Percival, 0.7
Aaron Boone, 0.4
Tom Gordon, 0.4
Darin Erstad, 0.2
Rich Aurillia, 0
Tony Clark, 0
Jermaine Dye, 0
Cliff Floyd, 0
Brian Giles, 0
Eddie Guardado, 0
Jason Schmidt, 0

About the author: Alex Lowe

A former college athlete in a sport that no one cared about, Alex now spends most of his days being a furiously biased Bulls and Braves fan. When he's not busy with that, he still imagines his 5'7" self making an improbable rise to NBA stardom.